Don't miss a thing from Drag News Magazine.

Email Address

Sign up for more!

Brought to you by

wbnyt 2

Pro Bike saw a first time victor at New Years Thunder with Western Australia's Ryan Learmonth taking his first 400 Thunder event over Daniel Rabnott.

wbnyt 5

It didn't take long for two of Australia's foremost drag racers on methanol to return to the top of their respective categories this 400 Thunder season.

Kelly Bettes Top Fuel Dragster

Queensland's Kelly Bettes lived up to her championship-winning reputation at New Years Thunder at Willowbank Raceway on Saturday night, recovering from a first round mistake to take out the final round from America's Ashley Sanford.

20190105aonfcjay 30

The Aeroflow Outlaw Nitro Funny Cars once again rocked Perth Motorplex with a massive crowd cramming into the venue to witness this circus of drag racing.

Sydney driver Rick Gauci walked away with yet another Aeroflow Outlaw Funny Cars win at Perth Motorplex on Saturday night, driving to an impressive 5.468 second run in the final round to wrap up the victory.

35a359df 882e 416a b3b3 83699441fda5

Anyone who is familiar with South Coast Raceway would be familiar with Greg ‘Dutchy’ Holland, the long-time committee member, former Vice President and track commentator.


The Aeroflow Outlaw Nitro Funny Car series is set to return to Sydney Dragway as part of one of the biggest one-day spectacles ever seen at the venue – the Gulf Western Oil Mega Race on April 6, 2019.


The ACDelco Pro Slammer team of Maurice Fabietti and Mark Hinchelwood took on Dale Heiler from Castle Hill Performance in a fascinating dyno contest in Canberra over the weekend.

Kelly Bettes Top Fuel Dragster

Two reigning 400 Thunder champions who have thus far struggled for the season got their series defences back on track with wins at Willowbank Raceway's New Years Thunder on Saturday night.


Ashley Sanford knocked out the quickest time for Top Fuel in pre-event testing for New Years Thunder at Willowbank Raceway, while John Zappia set a hot pace in the Pro Slammers.


Team owner Maurice Fabietti and driver Mark Hinchelwood have revealed a new ACDelco Holden Monaro at the Summernats car show in Canberra.

Emilio and Adamo Spinozzi are looking for a breakthrough run at New Years Thunder tomorrow at Willowbank Raceway in the Speedmaster Chevelle.

Surprisingly, there may be one vehicle harder to drive than an Aeroflow Outlaw Nitro Funny Car this Saturday at Perth Motorplex.

ect021118 194

Usually the start of a New Year leads to changes, resolutions, optimism, and bold predictions. However, for Jim Read Racing, they are looking on picking up from their last outing in Sydney and moving forward at this weekend’s New Year’s Thunder at Willowbank Raceway.

Josh Leahy comes into the Aeroflow Outlaw Nitro Funny Cars extravaganza at Perth Motorplex in career best form following his first ever win in the series in Queensland recently.

California's Ashley Sanford is ready to shake her bridesmaid status in Top Fuel at this Saturday's New Years Thunder event at Willowbank Raceway.

Richie Crampton Web

Australian NHRA Top Fuel driver Richie Crampton will make his second ever nitro appearance on home soil as part of Willowbank Raceway's New Years Thunder event this Saturday, January 5.

WSIDOpeningCeremony RibbonCut 13 080204

Vote for the top 15 moments in Sydney Dragway's 15 year history ahead of Santo's Summer Thunder and WIN some great prizes!

The year of 2018 is another for the memory books for Team Bray Racing, with a long list of highlights coming from what was a busy year of racing for the Gulf Western Oil-supported outfit.

John Zappia has kept his perfect streak at Perth Motorplex for the season alive with a win in Top Comp at round three of the WA Drag Racing Championships last Saturday.