19 new National Records claimed at the Winternationals

This article brought to you by:

JamieNoonan110615The Fuchs Winternationals always produce big numbers and standout performances. This past weekend 19 new national records were set as the 2015 ANDRA Championship season came to an epic conclusion

Top Alcohol

Jamie Noonan scored a trifecta with the event win and new TA/D records with a 5.504 elapsed time and a new speed of 261.32 mph. The previous records were 5.517 set by Adman Marchant and 257.73 mph set by Wayne Newby.

Top Doorslammer


John Zappia had already run into the 5.60s earlier this season but now he has made it an official record by backing up at Willowbank Raceway with a 5.693 ET in his final win. That run beats the previous record of 5.745, also owned by Zappia.

Competition Eliminator


Al McClure claimed both ends of the of the BB/FCA record with a 6.375 ET and 221.16 mph on his way to a second successive Competition Eliminator championship. McClure held the previous records of 6.394 and 220.04 mph.


Craig Geddes just missed out on the Competition championship, losing the semi final to McClure but he did reset the B/D records for ET and speed with a 7.287 and 186.12 mph. Those records had stood since the 2001 Winternationals when Charles van Tsseldyk recorded a 7.320 and 183.03 mph.


Finally in Competition Eliminator, the BB/GA minimum ET of 7.020 got more than a tickle when Robert Coleman set a new record of 6.949 seconds in Round 2 of his run to the semi finals.

Super Stock


Helping to secure his first ever Super Stock championship, Steve Norman added bonus points for new C/APA records with a 7.834 ET and 173.78 mph. Norman held the previous speed record of 173.34 mph while the ET was set a minimum 7.992.


Rob Nunn claimed the event win over new champ Steve Norman and set new B/AP records of 7.152 and 190.83 mph. The bested his previous records of 7.213 and 188.81 mph.


Kim Fardella set a new D/G record ET with an 8.248 second pass in Round 2 surpassing the previous minimum of 8.338. Fardella also set a new speed record reaching 163.16 mph to surpass Ian Brown’s 159.97 mph that has stood since 2000.


Brett Glover added the RR/API ET record to his speed record set earlier in the year with a 7.446 in Round 2. The previous minimum was set at 7.500.


Last but not least in Super Stock, Jim Ioannidis reset the B/MSA elapsed time record with a 9.203 to surpass Tony Caroscio’s previous mark of 9.522.

Competition Bike


Blair Pennington claimed a new C/AB elapsed time record with an 8.219, snatching the honour away from two-time Comp Bike champ Ross Smith who had previously set an 8.321 marker.

Super Compact


Scott Porter snatched the AA/SC elapsed time record from Rod Harvey surpassing the Kiwi’s mark of 6.352 with a 6.302 of his own.


Also in Super Compact, Matt Lisle set a new AA/OM speed record of 193.69 mph on his way to winning the Winternationals and knocks Po Tung’s 182.28 mph record of the perch.



Aeroflow Performance Parts Catalogue

Drag News Magazine