2011 NT Titles winners crowned

This article brought to you by:

A massive night of racing was witnessed at the 2011 NT Quarter Mile Titles on Saturday night at Hidden Valley Drag Strip.
Alice Springs based Mark “Yak” Probst top qualified in Outlaw with an impressive 6.749 at 206mph, making him the quickest Outlaw (A/AA) to run at Hidden Valley.

Alan Arthus held the number one qualifying position in Super Sedan with an 8.679, while David Denner was on top in Modified Bike with an 8.957. In Super Street Dan Anderson was to have the top spot, while Street Car and Street Bike were Kel Larfield and Dean Gunson respectively.

Onto racing and with full fields in each bracket it was going to be a tough campaign to make it through to the finals for any team.

Brother and sister, Nathan and Jodie Coles made it a family affair in Junior Dragster, younger sister Jodie taking out the win with a 9.591 on a 9.40 dialin, against Nathan’s 8.154 on an 8.00 dialin.

Outlaws were an all local affair with Dieter Herrmann taking on Bronte Henning. Herrmann took out the win with an 8.152 on an 8.14 dialin after Henning broke out by just 0.008 seconds, running a 7.492 on a 7.50 dialin.

Super Sedan was the bracket of the night with over 21 registered teams. Crowd favourite, Steve Payne’s AGROHT, more commonly known for his full track burnouts was running an all new 540ci motor combo. He unfortunately suffered gasket failures early in qualifying and had to withdraw, while the orange FJ of Troy David wowed the crowd with some sky high wheel standing launches throughout the afternoon. Unfortunately the bracket was restricted to only 2 rounds after several large oil downs throughout the night. After much deliberation, it was Alan Arthus that emerged victorious against David Bates, Arthus running an 8.682 against Bates’ 10.878.

Rounding out the night in the Street Car bracket, Troy Cameron handed the win to Bob Czerniawski after breaking out with a 13.653 on a 13.7 dialin. Czerniawski finished with a 13.608 on a 13.45 dialin.

Street Bike was another well represented field with 14 entrants. Geoff Hawkins took out the win after opponent, Tauri Minogue broke out. Minogue, riding a Suzuki GSX-R pulled a 10.664 at 137mph on a 10.70 dialin, while Hawkins crossed the traps with a 11.772 on an 11.55 dialin.

The final bracket to run of the night was Modified Bike. Top Qualifier, Dave Denner had to retire after damaging a wheel bearing, leaving the finals to Heath Costello and Leith Darrach.

Darrach ran a near perfect time but broke out by 0.002 seconds, running a 10.898 on a 10.90 dialin, but luck was on his side when Costello jumped the start, red lighting and automatically handing the win to Darrach before either had even crossed the finish line. Costello drove through for a 9.517 on a 9.40 dialin.

“HVDRA would like to congratulate all the 2011 NT Titles winners and express our gratitude to all the travelling teams, local racers, officials and sponsors that were part of this event” said HVDRA President Jay Jukes.

Racing next resumes at the Import vs Muscle event on Saturday 10 September.

Photo – Alan Arthus launches during qualifying on Saturday night – by www.epicmoments.com.au

Aeroflow Performance Parts Catalogue

Drag News Magazine