ANDRA announces first inductees for Hall of Fame

This article brought to you by:


The Australian National Drag Racing Association is pleased to announce the first five inductees into the ANDRA Hall of Fame.

The ANDRA Hall of Fame was announced as part of the 40th anniversary celebrations for Australia’s drag racing sanctioning body and members had a chance to nominate the people they considered the most worthy to ANDRA.

Rather than recognising only racing achievements, the ANDRA Hall of Fame focuses on those people who have demonstrated creativity, dignity, integrity and accomplishment at a national or international level and enhanced the status or growth of the sport.

ANDRA CEO Malcolm Bulley said the first induction celebrates the variety of contributions people can make to the sport of drag racing – from racing and promotion to volunteering and sportsmanship.

“The ANDRA Hall of Fame is not solely about racing achievements but those people who have demonstrated a commitment to the association that goes above and beyond what is expected,” he said. “With this first induction, the ANDRA board wanted to show the many ways people can make a contribution to ANDRA and the sport of drag racing.

“You don’t necessarily have to be a record setter or a championship winner, but to show dedication to ANDRA and the sport as a whole is a vital part of being inducted into the ANDRA Hall of Fame.”

The first inductees are as follows:

Mick Atholwood
A very successful owner, tuner and driver across many of ANDRA’s years. Generous to all racers with his time, knowledge and experience and an outstanding example of the sportsmanship expected of ANDRA members.

George Bailey
One of the longest serving divisional directors and a multiple record holder in Super Stock. Also served roles in the member National Control Council, National Executive Council and as Executive Director. All of this time was volunteered for the organisation.

Graeme Cowin
A brilliant racer and a dedicated supporter of sportsman racers and grass roots drag racing. Always prepared to back the sport which has helped build his business.

Paul Rogers Snr
Paul was at the first meeting of ANDRA and is believed to have come up with the name ANDRA. He has served multiple voluntary roles across the sport as well as competing in Pro Stock and Super Stock. He is also a founding member of the VDRC. Very few people have given as much time to the sport over the years as Paul.

Dennis Syrmis 
One of the most important administrative figures in the sport, Dennis is a former national director of ANDRA and was one of the sport’s most passionate promoters, helping build Queensland’s Willowbank Raceway into the magnificent venue it is today.

These five inductees will be honoured at the 2013 ANDRA Championship Dinner presented by Aeroflow Performance Products on November 4 in Sydney.


Aeroflow Performance Parts Catalogue

Drag News Magazine