Benaraby bracket bash – CQDRA round 1 report

This article brought to you by:

benrd1 2014 06

Benaraby Raceway’s new season has launched with the running of round one of their Central Queensland Drag Racing Association track championship series.

All brackets were running a three round format so everyone recieved plenty of track time, the two best performing racers fought it out in a final.

benrd1 2014 33

In the Comp bracket Greg Olive backed up a top qualifying effort with a final appearance against Kev Weir.

benrd1 2014 36

Both racers took three wins into the final and pushed each other to a double break out final, with Weir by the lesser amount awarded the win.

benrd1 2014 30

Supa Comp was headed by Dallas Everett after qualifying with a hard charging 7.38 179mph pass in the altered.

benrd1 2014 29

The final though would be Dale Sonagan being gifted a win when opponent Craig Olive picked a cherry off the tree.

benrd1 2014 35

Jim Davis stuck his Toyota ute on pole for Super Street.

benrd1 2014 32

Glen Soboll was the beneficiary of a double break out final over Kerry Janssen.

benrd1 2014 37

The Street bracket top qualifier was Matt Callanan with a 12.66 in his FPV Falcon, Colleen Keogh represented the lady racing contingent by winning the final over a breaking out Peter Collins.

benrd1 2014 39

The Bike bracket was headed by Alan Herriman but the final shook down to Phil Earl and Shaun Soboll, a big break from Soboll on his Hayabusa allowed Earl to roll through for the win.

benrd1 2014 34

In the well populated Twin Bike class Ian Hillcoat top qualified by a bunch with a 9.36 at 125mph.

benrd1 2014 31

Geoff Grice took the trophy home running a tight 11.204 on a 11.20 dial over Brad McSweeney.


Next round of the CQDRA track championship at Benaraby in on March 22.


Images by Tanya Catasti/Staunch Launch Photographer –










Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin