Bikers make the trek

This article brought to you by:

What started out as a small group of racers looking for some extra championship points has developed into a yearly pilgrimage for South Queensland drag bike racers.

Sixteen Queensland racers – including a container load of 12 bikes – will be invading the 39th annual Westernationals at Perth Motorplex on 27/28 February 2010.

This year the variety of drag bikes will include two ANDRA Pro Series Top Bikes, with Geoff Redgrave stepping up from Comp Bike on his all new Quiteaire Suzuki alongside Chris Matheson’s Nitro Voodoo.

After the last Top Bike round in Perth where he went to runner up, Chris has taken the opportunity to do further testing at the Motorplex, looking to do one better at the Westernationals.

The West Australian Competition Bike field is regarded as one of the toughest and most respected in the country.

Five South Queenslanders will be entering this tough field, with ex Australian Champion Dave Rundmann on his Suzuki B/SB who won this event in 2008, Blair Pennington on his newly rebuilt Suzuki GSX-R B/SB, Keg Garland on another GSX-R B/SB, Kevin Williamson on his trick Suzuki A/SB and Shayne Homes on his screaming Suzuki 600 D/SB, who is currently tied for the lead in the points chase.

Modified Bike always has an eclectic mix of machinery and the South Queensland 2010 entry list is no different.

This year LAE are fielding 4 bikes with Alex Buxton leading the way, Sam Taylor on his ZX10-R Kawasaki, Alex Tukavkin on his Suzuki GSX-R and Rowan Lind on his nitrous-fed CBR Honda.

Others in Mod Bike include Alberto Marques on his wheelstanding stretched Kawasaki ZX10-R, Andy Roberts on his Suzuki GSX-R1000 and Daryn Schuster, a Championship round winner this season who will be looking to continue his points collection. Queenslanders making their own way over West seperately are Modified Bike riders Mal Brooks on his long Suzuki Hayabusa, and “Wild Wayne”Smith on his black ZX14 Kawasaki. Keg Garland is currently based in WA with his GSX-R and will contest Comp Bike as well.

So far the group has been lucky enough to bring home a winners trophy for the last two years, with Dave “Robot” Rundmann taking Comp Bike in 2008 and Jason Hammelswang in Mod Bike last year, the Queenslanders hoping the trend will continue on this year.

The group is enthusiastic as ever for the yearly trip renowned for a great time along with great racing.


Geoff Redgrave 2975 – Quietaire Australia, Lindley Mining Maintenance, Schnitz Racing, Reds Metal Polishing & Mechanicals, T.K. Signs, Champion Spark Plugs.
Chris Matheson 2355 – Redline, Glenfords, CRC, Kitten, RBP, Smart Skip, PR Factory Store, Moto Components.

Shayne Homes D/SB 1001 – Cyanide Racing,
Blair Pennington B/SB 4431 – Power House Dyno, Allan Marks Building Services, GZA, Nerang Gloss
David Rundmann B/SB 1659 – DS Race Engines, Cyanide Racing
Kevin Williamson A/SB 1702 – Just Trailers, Dee-Gees Bobcats
Keg Garland B/SB 3778 – Pro Flow, Cyanide Racing

Alex Buxton A/MB 5082 – LAE Racing
Rowan Lind AA/MB 1335 – LAE Racing, Karnage Kustoms, Heavy Plant Hire
Alberto Marques A/MB 4463 – Power House Dyno, Allan Marks Building Services, GZA, Nerang Gloss
Andy Roberts A/MB 2611 – Rapid Fabrications
Daryn Schuster A/MB 2151 – Rapid Fabrications
Sam Taylor A/MB 3878 – LAE Racing
Alexey Tukavkin A/MB 5062 – LAE Racing
Wayne Smith A/MB 142 – Mufflers to the Max, Powerhouse Dyno
Mal Brooks A/MB 4667 – Mufflers to the Max, Powerhouse Dyno

Aeroflow Performance Parts Catalogue

Drag News Magazine