Clayton takes win at inaugural Benaraby Nationals

This article brought to you by:


Greg Clayton took out a thrilling Super Comp bracket in round eight of the Aeroflow Sportsman Drag Racing Championship, held for the first time at Benaraby Raceway in central Queensland.


With Super Comp (a mix of Competition and Super Stock) running over the eighth mile, Clayton took the opportunity to smash his national record in the final with a 3.973 pass at 176.47mph on a 4.24 index (against existing national record marks of 4.19 and 173mph) and defeat fellow Queenslander Jason Simpson in a tough final, with Simpson’s 5.234 on an index of 5.39 under his national record too.

Clayton had the perfect weekend points wise, as he was earned bonus points for top qualifying and has now reached the 300 point cap alongside championship rivals Craig Geddes and Wayne Cartledge.

For his efforts, Simpsons boosted himself to third in the Super Stock points, but he still has some work to do at remaining rounds of the Aeroflow Sportsman Drag Racing Series in Adelaide and Mildura if he is to reach the 300 point cap before the final in Sydney.

The well-travelled Luke Marsden continued to dominate Supercharged Outlaws with a win against a red lighting Leigh Ryan in the final.

Marsden has now gathered himself 540 points, the highest of any driver in the Aeroflow Sportsman Drag Racing Championship, making him the favourite for the annual John Storm Memorial trophy.
Another team making their travel worth it was the Knijff Earthmoving outfit, as driver Tony Littlewood scored victory against Katie Cunningham in the final of Modified.

Rick Nielsen won a close final against Mark Harding in Super Sedan, while David Butler was the only racer from outside Queensland to score a win, with the New South Welshman taking out Modified Bike.

Laurie Bonato took the trophy against Brandon Sabine in Super Street, with Brock Hodgson pushing Eden Ward to a break out in Junior Dragster.

Dave Gauldie elevated himself to second in the Super Gas points with a win against national champion Simon Isherwood, who took over the top place from Kym Oberauer.

The next round of the Aeroflow Sportsman Drag Racing Championship sees the series return to Adelaide International Raceway for the Lady Daly Hotel Springnationals on September 20 and 21.

Image courtesy

Aeroflow Performance Parts Catalogue

Drag News Magazine