Darren Morgan heads west with championship lead

This article brought to you by:

Darren Morgan Racing heads west this weekend for a Top Fuel showdown at the Perth Motorplex.

Currently sitting number 1 in the ANDRA Top Fuel Championship after winning the first 2 rounds of the season, Darren Morgan knows that the team will need to bring their A game to fend off the challenges of Phil Lamattina, Allan Dobson and Mark Sheehan (who won this event last season).

“We love coming to the Perth Motorplex,” said Darren Morgan. “It’s a fantastic facility and the West Aussie crowd really love their Top Fuel drag racing. As a team we’ve had a lot of success in Perth and we’ll be looking to stretch our legs at the front of the field and maintain our championship lead.”

With mild conditions predicted for Saturday night’s racing tuner Ben Patterson is confident they have the setup to go rounds. “We’ve always run well in Perth. At last year’s event we top qualified and took home the mile-an-hour points as well.”

“This time around we’d like to go one better than our runner up finish last year and take home our third ANDRA gold Christmas tree, the perfect present coming into the holiday season,” joked Ben Patterson.

For the east coast based team, it’s a huge effort to get all the necessary equipment and race car across to the other side of the country and perform at the highest level. “For this event V8 Nights have come on-board as the naming rights sponsor,” said a very proud Darren Morgan.

“Local business KTrans WA has also joined the team as a major associate sponsor for the 2 rounds in Perth along with Royal Asphalt as an associate sponsor. I’d also like to say a very special thank you to Russell Garner who drove our truck 3,000kms from Mildura to Perth so we can compete this weekend.”

If Darren Morgan Racing can take out the win this weekend it will be 3 in a row and the team’s best start to a season, a remarkable achievement for the budget conscious racers from country Victoria.

Top Fuel qualifying kicks off at 7pm Friday night at the Perth Motorplex, with final eliminations from 6pm on Saturday night.

Current ANDRA Top Fuel Championship Points
1. Darren Morgan – 217
2. Phil Lamattina – 180
3. Steve Read – 149
4. Luke Shepherd – 87
5. Martin Stamatis – 63
6. Allan Dobson – 46
7. Terry Sainty – 44

Aeroflow Performance Parts Catalogue

Drag News Magazine