Gajic wins big money as Pro Street thunders at Willowbank

This article brought to you by:

The biggest cash prize in Pro Street drag racing was on offer at Willowbank Raceway at the weekend during the Outlaw 10.5 Pro Street Shootout, and it drew all kinds of racers out of the woodwork in search of the big money.

Come race day, there was everything from Chevys to Nitrous powered monsters to BMWs on the start line for the Outlaw 10.5 category, with the final run coming down to Pro Series racer Matt Abel and his Top Doorslammer and Gas Motorsport’s Zoran Gajic and his Toyota-powered BMW.

Matt Abel and his Top Doorslammer were runner up in the Outlaw 10.5 class
It was Gajic who would take the victory in a upset, with Abel suffering issues on the start line allowing Gajic to power through for the win and the big $10,500 cheque from Procomp Motorsport.

Johnny Wilson, co-owner of the Australian Pro Street Assocation – who were responsible for the weekend’s event with sponsorship from Procomp Motorsport and support from Willowbank Raceway – said that there was plenty of exciting racing on show.

“The 10.5 category gave us some absolutely exciting racing, with big numbers run very close to USA records and some extremely quick times laid down on the 10.5 wide tyres,” said Wilson.

“It was great to see and really showed the big potential and expertise we have coming through in Australia.

“There were some great match ups, with Top Doorslammer cars taking on exotic Toyota powered machines in Outlaw 10.5, and in the other racing brackets it was thrills aplenty too with very fierce and competitive racing and the Chicago Shootout format gave everyone six runs each which was great for the racers and great for the fans.

Please see below for winner and runner-up results from the Outlaw 10.5 Pro Street Shootout.

While the Pro Street racing was fierce, it wasn’t the only thing happening at Willowbank Raceway at the weekend, with Sunday September 19 hosting the track’s 25th anniversary celebrations.

Willowbank Raceway is Queensland’s premier drag racing facility and hosts four major drag racing events each year – the two-round New Year Series in January, the Australian Top Fuel Championships in March and the Castrol EDGE Winternationals in June. The Queen’s Birthday event is the largest drag racing event outside of the US and is the season finale for the ANDRA Pro Series calendar.





Outlaw 10.5
Winner: Zoran Gajic
Runner up: Matt Abel

Outlaw Radial
Winner: Shane Greenberg
Runner up: N/A (Solo pass)

True StreetM
Winner: Andrew Searle
Runner up: Grant Hughes

Modified Street Unblown
Winner: Les Vangelovski
Runner up: Robert Hurley

Winner: Neil Tschutura
Runner up: Tony Dodds

Pro Street Unblown
Winner: Jason Mansweto
Runner up: Adam Smolders

Modified Street Blown
Winner: Stuart Henry
Runner up: Johnny Wilson

Pro Street Blown
Winner: Ben Graham
Runner up: N/A (Solo pass)

For more information please visit


Aeroflow Performance Parts Catalogue

Drag News Magazine