GALLERY & RESULTS: Willowbank double header – QDRC & Eighth Mile Champs

This article brought to you by:

Willowbank pulled off a event double header last weekend with round two of the Queensland Drag Racing Championships, and the first round of a three round Eighth Mile Championship Series being run as a tribute to the late John ‘Stomper’ Winterburn.

Results from the QDRC saw Josh Fletcher take first blood in the season with his dragster defeating the breaking out funny car of Graeme Frawley. Daniel Morris backed up his round one win with another final appearance but was down by Paul Doeblien at this event with a tight 8.714 on a 8.71 dial. Blaze Hansen hit back at the Modified field with a final win over last start winner Lucas Holz. In Super Sedan, Robert Winterburn is on a winning streak, yet to be beaten this series, after putting the chop on Mitchell Bauer at the tree, winning the final on a big holeshot.

Tammy Goldthorpe made it back to back finals in Modified Bike, but Steven Day took home the winner’s trophy with a .012 reaction on a 10.076 (10.04DI) to Goldthorpe’s breakout run. Likewise Troy Hutton upset last start winner Shaun Doeblien in the Super Street final in a double breakout duel. Finally is Junior Dragster, Emma Wagensveld was again the bridesmaid in the final with Jazmin Kidd cutting a light and taking the final win.

Next round of the QDRC is on May 7.

Moving on to the Eighth Mile Series held the next day run in honour of ‘Stomper’ whom ran a similar series across South East Queensland.

In Outlaws, Rodney William with a 5.488 (5.45DI) beat Kaylene Gourley’s 5.481 (5.40DI) with the little blown Torana in the final. In Modified, Brett Farnell ripped out a .001 light for the final but broke out by 3 thou, handing the win to Gavin List. Phil Youlten’s Torana was too good on the tree for the Super Sedan final taking out Rob Price. Matt Walker was the winning benefactor in a double breakout Modified Bike final against Joe Marshall. Super Street was won by Rhonda Larfield over David Olsen, while Street Sedan saw Sharon Horne take the win light against Mark Rossow in the final. A red light from Deklan McConnell gifted the Junior Dragster final win to Skylah Wagensfeld.

Next round of the Eighth Mile Series is on July 3.

Monster gallery from both events courtesy of Drag Photos.

Aeroflow Performance Parts Catalogue

Drag News Magazine