Honours all round in WA

This article brought to you by:

The Western Australian drag racing season has wrapped up with plaudits all round among racers and administrators.

In presentations held in Kwinana on Thursday night, Allen Puglia (above, right) was yet again named Driver of the Year following his fifth state Super Comp title while Ross Smith (above, left) scored Rider of the Year honours after an excellent season in Competition Bike. Dean Burtoft won Rookie Driver of the Year as well as taking out the Super Street title with Geoff Smith earning Rookie Rider of the Year.

The administrators of Perth Motorplex have also been in for some honours lately with Western Australia’s Sunday Times naming Perth Motorplex director Gary Miocevich in its top 50 most influential people in Western Australian sport.

Miocevich first became involved in the administration of the sport in WA when he was part of a consortium that purchased the troubled Ravenswood Raceway. It grew strongly before land pressures saw Miocevich and speedway institution Con Migro lobby the WA Government to build a multi-purpose motorsports complex in Perth.

In December 2000 the Perth Motorplex was opened and it is now regarded as the best attended permanent motorsports venue in Australia, annually attracting in excess of 250,000 people to drag racing, speedway, car shows and burnout events.


Aeroflow Performance Parts Catalogue

Drag News Magazine