IHRA support a vote of confidence in 400 Thunder

This article brought to you by:

400 Thunder full colour

The release of the International Hot Rod Association’s “State of the State” document further cements the 400 Thunder Professional Drag Racing Series as a market leader in the delivery of motorsports entertainment.

IHRA president Chris Lencheski described 400 Thunder in his annual report as potentially, “The future of our USA based professional programming. As evidenced in Australia, the globalview model of the IHRA is a success, and confirms what we believe to be a path for our future product professionally”.

The vote of confidence in the 400 Thunder series comes as race teams prepare for a new, single day twenty-20 style format for drag racing at the next event on the calendar, the New Year Thunder at Willowbank Raceway on 7th January 2017. With Top Fuel, Pro Slammer, Top Bike and Pro Bike all in attendance with support brackets including the popular US based racer Larry Larson, the style of event promises to be a revelation for drag racing worldwide.

All professional categories will race 3 times during the single day event, with no qualifying or eliminations necessary on the day. Winners will be decided by a points system based on race wins and elapsed time rankings, with the overall event winner to be determined by the final race pairing of the night.

The new system was trialled at the Nitro Champs at Sydney Dragway in May with the Top Fuel Category, and proved to be popular with racers and fans alike – delivering 70% more racing as opposed to traditional elimination style events where there are no second chances for racers and fans alike.

The series will then shift to Sydney Dragway two weeks later and the Santo’s Summer Thunder, where a bumper field of 8 Top Fuel cars will take to the Sydney Dragway racetrack in addition to Pro Slammer, Pro Alcohol and Top Bike on the 21st January.

With the New Year fast approaching, a new sensation has arrived in Australian Motorsport – and all roads lead to 400 Thunder!

For event information and ticketing for the New Years Thunder on 7thJanuary, please visit www.willowbankraceway.com.au.

For Event information and ticketing for the Santo’s Summer Thunder on 21st January, please visit www.sydneydragway.com.au.

– 400 Thunder media release

Aeroflow Performance Parts Catalogue

Drag News Magazine