Lamattina blazes to track record at Willowbank

This article brought to you by:

Top Fuel racer Phil Lamattina has provided a perfect opening on a perfect day to Willowbank Raceway’s Top Fuel Championships, with a blistering 520 plus kilometre per hour record-setting pass to close out qualifying tonight.

The Top Fuel Championships will continue with racing tomorrow (Saturday), with on track action from 10.30am and eliminations for Top Fuel, Top Bike and Pro Stock Bike from 5.00pm.

Lamattina was consistently on the top of the qualifying sheets all evening, before a 4.652 second pass at 326.71 miles per hour (525.80kmh) saw him surpass the track speed record (previously set at 325.38mph/523.65kmh).

“That last run was, given the conditions, pretty much perfect, giving us the track speed record, a 4.652 second pass, and the number one qualifier spot, we are pretty happy,” said Lamattina.

“Every round of qualifying tonight we ended at the top of the sheets so its been a good night, and with the second run we came close to the track record before knocking it off in the final qualifier.

“At this end of the championship, the business end, we needed to make a move and step up, Darren (Morgan) has had everyone’s measure so far this season.

“By doing a good job today and earning the number one qualifier spot, we have earned ourselves a trip into the semi-final and a low-pressure first round which will be great for us to gauge the track and be in a better position for round two.

“When it comes to race day, we will be just doing our best as always, going rounds, race the track, and see if we can put the Fuchs top fuel dragster into the winners circle!”

Chasing Lamattina on the time sheets and set to face up for elimination racing Saturday afternoon is Phil Read, championship leader Darren Morgan, Terry Sainty and local racer Steve ‘Pom’ Read.

In the two-wheeled ANDRA Pro Series ranks, local Chris Matheson topped the time sheets for Top Bike ahead of Chris Porter, last-round winner Troy McLean, Terry Burnett, Marc Ryder, Geoff Redgrave, Allan Herriman and Mick Murray.

Matheson took the top spot with a 6.270 second pass at 197.94 miles per hour (318.56kmh) in his second and final qualifying attempt.

In Pro Stock Motorcycle, reigning champion Andrew Badcock put on a dominating performance to qualify fastest with a 7.321 second pass, ahead of former champ Peter Cochrane, while Michael Gilbertson was a shock non-qualifier.

Tomorrow’s race day kicks off at 10.30am with ANDRA Pro Series racing at 5.00pm and 7.00pm before finals for all brackets get underway from 8.30pm. Tickets are available at the gate, with an adult ticket $35.00, discounts for Students with ID and children 13 and under gaining free entry. For more information please visit


Racing from:
Feature brackets: Top Fuel, Top Bike and Pro Stock Motorcycle
Racing also from: Lifestyle Floor Coverings Competition, Lifestyle Floor Coverings Super Stock, Super Compact, Competition Bike, All Star Batteries Supercharged Outlaws, Knijff Earthmoving Modified, Powercruise Super Sedan, Speed Elec/Prime Signs Super Street, Modified Bike, Donnelly Blasting Services Junior Dragster and Super Gas.

Ticketing: tickets available online at or at the gate:
General Admission:
Adult Admission – Saturday March 26 2011- $35.00
Student/Concession Admission – Saturday March 26 2011 – $25.00

Adrenalin Club – includes Admission – limited seating:
Adrenalin Club – Saturday March 26 2011 – $75.00
Adrenalin club – Saturday March 26 2011 – $30.00

Reserved Grandstand seating – does not include admission:
Startline Club Seat – Satudray March 26 2011 – $16.00

Timings are approximate only and subject to change – be sure to check for schedule updates closer to the event.

Saturday March 26, 2011
On track action from 10.30am
ANDRA Pro Series Racing from 5.00pm, 7.00pm and finals for all brackets including ANDRA Pro Series from 8.30pm



Aeroflow Performance Parts Catalogue

Drag News Magazine