Morgan maintains championship points lead

This article brought to you by:

Mildura’s Darren Morgan has maintained his points lead in the 2010/11 Australian Top Fuel Championship in what was a hard fought battle at Round 2 of the ANDRA Pro Series last weekend at Sydney Dragway.

Morgan maintains his lead in the Pro Series despite a semi final loss
Under threatening skies, that luckily failed to produce any rain, the AEG Powertools, Darren Morgan Racing (DMR) Top Fuel Dragster came up short in their semi final run after dropping cylinders early against local hero Terry Sainty.

After qualifying in the 5th position with a 4.870 @ 307.65 in the final qualifying session of the weekend the bright orange AEG Powertools machine won its opening round encounter against newcomer Damien Harris with a 4.904 @ 293.15. But unfortunately their strong, unbeaten start to the season came to end in the second round as they were defeated in the semi finals.

“The very tricky, hot track conditions that we encountered saw the all of the teams struggle throughout the weekend,” Team owner/driver Darren Morgan said

“We would have liked to progress through the event further, but we are still leading the championship and we are in a strong position heading into the next event.”

Morgan is now leading the ANDRA Pro Series championship over Andrew Cowin by 10 points.

The team is now busy preparing for the ‘Morgan v Lamattina’ match race at Perth Motorplex on November 20th. The DMR dragster will be making the long trip across the Nullarbor for 3 match races against Lamattina on the Saturday night.

“We are very excited to be heading over to Perth, we love racing over there,” commented Morgan

“We are planning to put on a great show for the fans and our sponsors as well as gather some valuable data for the points round in January.”

The next round of the ANDRA Pro Series will be round one of the New Years Series held at Willowbank Raceway on the 2nd to 3rd of January 2011.

Aeroflow Performance Parts Catalogue

Drag News Magazine