Morgan on charge for third title

This article brought to you by:

Darren Morgan and the AEG Powertools Top Fuel team put in a strong showing to finish second at the Nitro Champs at Sydney Dragway in the fifth round of the ANDRA championship, but lost precious position in one of the most thrilling Top Fuel title chases in years.

After top qualifying with a 4.70sec, Morgan was unfortunate not to make it two on the trot in Top Fuel following his win at the Adelaide Pro Series 1000 in April.

Morgan eliminated arch rival Phil Lamattina early on, Morgan was knocked out by Damien Harris in the final when he overpowered the track.

Morgan is seeking a second consecutive Top Fuel crown and his third overall, though Harris’s win put him 2.5 points ahead of the Victorian.

Just one round remains – the Fuchs Winternationals at Willowbank Raceway.

“It was a great weekend at the Nitro Champs but I’m disappointed we couldn’t grab the win at the end after such a strong performance in the elimination rounds,” he said.

“We congratulate Damien and his team on their well deserved first gold Christmas tree. Those guys have been running excellently this season.

“We’re just a couple of points off the championship lead with only the Winternationals left to go so from here we’re all charging 100% to Willowbank with a winning mentality.

“It was fantastic to have two new sponsors on board for the event in Hedman Husler Hedders and Victorian American Imports now as a Major Associate Partner – I look forward to continuing our partnership together.

“We have always performed well at the Winternationals and it’s the biggest event of the year so I can’t wait to get back there in June and continue our strong showing at the track.”

The Fuchs Winternationals takes place on June 8-11 at Willowbank Raceway near Ipswich, Queensland. The full ANDRA drag racing experience will be on show including all pro categories and the best sportsman racers in the nation taking part in the Rocket Allstars Racing Series.

Top Fuel points (after five rounds)
1 Damien Harris 474.5
2 Darren Morgan 472
3 Andrew Cowin 415.5
4 Phillip Lamattina 400.5
5 Mark Sheehan 149
6 Cory McClenathan 143
7 Terry Sainty 107
8 Mark Mariani 88
9 Phil Read 63
10 Bob Shepherd 43



Aeroflow Performance Parts Catalogue

Drag News Magazine