New twist on Top Fuel Drag Racing at the Motorplex

This article brought to you by:


Nitro returns this Friday and Saturday to the Perth Motorplex for rounds 4 and 5 of the ANDRA Top Fuel Championship.


This unique event will feature rounds of the Championship on both nights, consisting of a compulsory qualifying session, an elimination round and finals under a new system being trialed by ANDRA.


5 Top Fuel teams will be taking part in this historical event including Phil Lamattina, Allan Dobson, previous round winner Mark Sheehan and Damien Harris who returns to racing for the 1st time this season.


Sitting at the top of the Championship ladder, Darren Morgan “loves getting back to Perth. Given the number of points up for grabs these are very important rounds in the Championship. We’re going to give it our best shot to win both rounds and put on a great show for the fans.”


With the new format the pressure is on to perform well from the very first qualifying session. According to tuner Ben Patterson, “We’ve made a few changes to the car and we’re working on our 60 foot times after finding and fixing a problem. We usually have 3 qualifiers to sort these types of things out and do some testing. However, now we have to put in a good run on our 1 and only qualifier on each day.”


“We’re not sure how it will affect the racing but the fans are certain to have a great time,“ said Darren. “One thing’s for sure, it’s going to be a lot more expensive with the cars set on kill from the very 1st qualifier.”


After a 1st round exit from the last round of racing at the Perth Motorplex, Darren Morgan and the team at DMR are looking to go rounds at this historical event, and pull away from other title contenders before heading to Willowbank Raceway for round 6 of the ANDRA Top Fuel Championship.


DMR would like to thank their major sponsors K Trans WA, Shannons Insurance and Victorian American Imports along with their many associate partners.


Current ANDRA Top Fuel Championship Points
1.    Darren Morgan – 285
2.    Phil Lamattina – 276
3.    Steve Read – 149
4.    Allan Dobson – 113
5.    Mark Sheehan – 105
6.    Luke Shepherd – 87
7.    Martin Stamatis – 63
8.    Terry Sainty – 44

Aeroflow Performance Parts Catalogue

Drag News Magazine