Pro Stock to return to Sydney Dragway in April

This article brought to you by:

Due to wet conditions Round Three of the 2010/2011 ANDRA Pro Series Pro Stock Championship was cancelled last Saturday after one qualifying session was completed.

After a meeting between senior officials of ANDRA and Sydney Dragway, and the Pro Stock teams present for the event, Sydney Dragway announced they were willing to stage the round at their next scheduled competition event on April 8th and 9th.

ANDRA had requested this approach because Pro Stock had completed just one round of their current series in September 2010.

Under ANDRA regulations, ANDRA Pro Series points are allocated where at least one full round of qualifying is completed. After consultation with the National Control Council, it has been confirmed that points will be allocated for the March round on that basis, and the April round will be a fresh round.

ANDRA CEO Tony Thornton said this was a very positive move from the new management team at Sydney Dragway. “After the rainout budgets are understandably tight and the gesture by the management and the teams is a great gesture.” he said. “The Drag Racing Australia Group who operates the Pro Series is in a similar position but they have agreed to provide the additional television coverage in April.”

Event sponsor AEROFLOW Performance Products are supportive of the decisions taken on the day.

In a statement issued yesterday, Sydney Dragway Chairman Sam Sofi thanked those racers and spectators who came to the event. “My heartfelt thanks go to all of you hardy racers and spectators – the feeling in the pits was one of extreme goodwill. I know we didn’t get to see and talk to everyone but Pieter (Versluis) and I genuinely appreciated the warmth you exhibited to us as we moved through the pits.”


1 Aaron Tremayne QLD 136

2 David Newcombe QLD 107

3 Jason Hedges NSW 88

4 Shane Tucker QLD 69

5 Lee Bektash VIC 65

6 Denis Whiting QLD 62

7 Scott Porter QLD 53

7 Andrew Stavroulakis NSW 53

8 Nick Xerakias VIC 52

9 Michael Ali SA 46

10 Ian Brown VIC 45

11 Peter Ridgeway VIC 43

11 Tyronne Tremayne QLD 43

11 Bill Kotsias VIC 43

12 Bill Perdikaris NSW 42


Aeroflow Performance Parts Catalogue

Drag News Magazine