REPORT – JP Racing Eighth Mile Drag Racing Series round one

This article brought to you by:


Warwick Dragway played host to the first round of the 2015 JP Racing Eighth Mile Drag Racing Series on March 14. The event was originally was scheduled for late February, but cyclone Marcia had something to say about that, so organiser John Winterburn made the proactive decision to move the event date.

Even though it was a re-run only five racers pulled out who were originally entered and a extra thirty rocked up on the day making it the biggest field ever for a JP Racing Series event at Warwick Dragway.


Eighth Mile Outlaws was the feature bracket that hosts all forms of forced induction with superchargers, nitrous and turbocharged vehicles represented. The event was run using the three round format with the best two performers over the three round to throw-down in the final.


The final featured last year’s champion blown altered racer Rodney Hansen up against Ashley Thomson. The Falcon ute of Thomson received a big handicap start hitting the tree well with a 0.014 light ahead of Hansen’s 0.140 start. Thomson held on at the stripe to win running 6.914 on his 6.900 dial in to defeat the altered’s 4.599 on 4.570.



It was front engine versus rear engine dragster final in Modified Eliminator between a couple of most experienced blokes in the sport. Bob Frawley got away well with a 0.049 reaction time only to break out handing the win to Darren Otto who’s “Step Back In Ttime” dragster ran 6.191 on a 6.15 second dial in.



The Super Sedan final was a close race and led early by local Warwick racer Sam Campbell courtesy of a 0.014 to 0.098 start line advantage. Unfortunately for Campbell he ran off his 6.60 second dial in and allowed the experienced Tony Whyatt to sneak past with a winning 5.758 on a 5.750 in his Commodore.



Mark Woods won the Modified Bike bracket thanks to a great package in the final round. Woods left first with a 0.044 and proceeded to run 6.026 on his 6.00 dial in to collect the winner’s trophy. Runner up was Brian Alvisio whose Kawasaki slowed off it’s 6.20 second dial in.



In Super Street Dave Olsen’s One Tonner’s superior reaction and 8.364 on a 8.35 dial pushed Nathan Jannush in his HQ to a break out.



The Junior Dragster win went to Tim Barron thanks to a 0.100 reacting 8.489 on 8.46. Caleb Oberg continued his great final season in JD with another final round appearance albeit runner up this time.

The next round of the 2015 JP Racing Eighth Mile Drag Racing Series will be at Willowbank Raceway April 25.

Report and photos courtesy of and check out their emag at




Aeroflow Performance Parts Catalogue

Drag News Magazine