REPORT – QDRC round six plus Kenda Radial Series

This article brought to you by:

21640817 1042253182544513 4756566137349856713 o

Willowbank Raceway ran the penultimate round of the Queensland Drag Racing Championships and what a sensational meet it was. The event also featured a record breaking round of the Kenda Tires 660 Drag Radial Series.

With now just one round to go in the QDRC it is now or never for championship contenders. Here are the results:

21743849 1041249012644930 8780712361812450608 o 1

Competition Bike

Winner: Andrew Badcock 
R/Up: Chris Collin

With not enough Super Comp cars in the paddock for a class, Competition Bike represented the national index racing brackets. And while we were greeted by a small field of comp bike racers, the quality did not leave anyone disappointed and neither did Peter Puznik’s back wheel antics. When both riders cut reds in the final, that says how much they both knew how hard they needed to hit the tree. Badcock courtesy of being the quicker bike got to see Collin’s red then proceeded to do the same, but finished the run off with a 7.62 ay 170 mph and a winners trophy.

21752535 1041249122644919 2616112961194154165 o


Winner: Mark Allan
R/Up: Kellie Kidd 

Kidd won the last QDRC round in Modified in what was an eventful final with the crash of Stephan Gouws ,but this time it was all clear thankfully. The final race which was a replay of the previous round of racing in the Chicago Shootout format, Allan changed his dial in up from 8.01 to 8.02 and Kidd moved her’s down from 7.50 to a 7.49. This proved a good move for Allan who ran right on his dial in with a 8.01 and Kidd even with the dial in change still ran too quick with a 7.46 on the 7.50. Kidd started the meet on top of the points and should still be but Allan shook off his bridesmaid tag and is most certainly on the charge. Also of note with no Super Comp available Tony Bellert dropped back into the bracket and smashed the A/MD Track Record and his own A/DA record with a 6.77 at 197mph.

Super Sedan

Winner: Michael Schaper
R/Up: Noel Green

Both racers were consistent all day and the final was a beauty. Green had cut a. 003 light in the previous round and cut one again in the final, but as is his way he wheelstood the Torana and was out of the groove at half track, whilst Schaper got the mighty Chev ute out to a straight as an arrow 8.83 on an 8.77, and took an enjoyable win.

21752753 1041249502644881 5466301802410897673 o

Modified Bike 

Winner: Michael Beaton 
R/Up: Tammy Goldthorpe 

Both Beaton and Goldthorpe reached the final with three wins in what was a very tough field of bikes as usual. In the final Beaton cut a .064 to Tammy’s a .066 so it was anyone’s race, at the stripe Beaton had broken out with a 8.58 on an 8.59 but Goldthorpe’s 8.93 on an 8.96 dial in was a bigger break out and Beaton picked a hard fought win.

21640910 1041248909311607 6728551690676314365 o

Super Street

Winner: Ray Ross 
R/Up: Neil Tschutura 

Tschutura in his Commodore is always one of the first racers to turn up to the lanes, and being first cab off the rank did him well as he made the final. Ross had the Charger cooking all day with some sweet wheels up launches, and with dial in consistency as well. In the final Tschutura had the better of the tree but  and was chased down by Ross who scored the win by the barest of margins in what was an exciting final. 

21586469 1041249125978252 4395203880036588176 o

Junior Dragster

Winner: Kyle Magner
R/Up: Rhys Beauchamp

Coming into the round Beauchamp was on 64 points in second place and Magner in fifth on 56 points for the QDRC showing how tight the championship is, and with twenty Junior Dragsters all vying for points is a tough ask and the boys did well to make the final. In that final Beauchamp had the advantage on the tree in his chase but still went to hard, breaking out by 7 thou against Magner who stayed safely within his dial in.

The final round of the QDRC is on Oct 28th.

21753248 1419334494788048 6006715573519857061 o

The event also saw another round of radial tyre racing madness with the Kenda Tires 660 Drag Racing Series, which saw Australian radial tyre records hammered.

21640718 1419334358121395 2017616109937869790 o

21551948 1419334138121417 8231126004274365861 o

Perry Bullivant smashed the E.T record with a 4.21 before going down in tyre smoke to Joe Gauci in the Kombat final. Earlier we saw Shaun Hale in his iconic fox body Mustang run the fastest ever speed for a radial car over the short track at 186mph.

21586963 1419334641454700 4352118472397506420 o

In the Drag Radial Warz class Tanya Thompson showed the fellas with a win in her turbo LS Commodore by taking the win over Scott Dransfield.

21586664 1042253795877785 8416443870968623014 o

And in the Radial Rumble bracket that featured plenty of tough streeters, Cameron Snow’s monster 615ci Camaro took the win of Ian Weber’s nitrous snorting six banger Torana.

The minor awards saw some new faces:

ASG Motorsport & Dyno Quickest Boosted: 
Perry Bullivant – 4.21

Armstrong Automotive Quickest 275:
Joey Bridge – 4.89

Snickers – Bullivant Racing Quickest 235/8.5
Steve Sloan – 5.9

Phantom Performance & Dyno Quickest 6 Cylinder:
Nikki Hepburn – 4.40

Protective Sercurity Quickest Aspirated: 
Marcus Page – 5.04

Spool Imports Wildest Pass:
Danny Lansdowne

Mood Motorsports Announcers Choice:
Juan Kudnig

21587126 1042253842544447 2502356764333265383 o

6 Boost Hard Luck Award:
Phil Penny – Launched the Turbo off the car

Performance Wholesale Most Consistent: 
Johnny Haley (3 x 6.439 Passes)

RCE Performance Warehouse Best Reaction Time:
Scott Hipwell – 0.020

JCM Coffee Machines Racing Best Appearing:
Goran Ivanovic Turbo LS Cortina

Bring on October 21st for the KENDA Tires Radial Riot.

– Thanks to Terry Dale with the assistance of the report.

Aeroflow Performance Parts Catalogue

Drag News Magazine