Rocket Allstars lifts off at 2010 Fuchs Australian Nationals

This article brought to you by:

Nearly half the entries at the 2010 FUCHS Australian Nationals held over the weekend of September 11th and 12th at Sydney Dragway came from outside New South Wales.

This showed solid support from around the country at the outset of the 2010/2011 Rocket Allstars Racing Series points chase, which determines Australian Champions in the eleven ANDRA Sportsman brackets, and up to eleven Divisional Champions in each of the six ANDRA Divisions.

Victorian Mike Nola took the win in RARS Competition over fellow Victorian Shane Baxter. Justin Walshe from South Queensland driver Justin Walshe and another Victorian Wayne Cartledge made it to the semi finals.

Victorian Nino Cavallo has held Australian Champion honours in RARS Super Stock for three seasons, and made a great start to his series defence with a win over fellow Victorian Mick Simic. South Queensland driver Paul Beauchamp and Victorian Les Heintz reached the semi finals.

Queensland’s Damien McKern and Sydney’s Rocky Rehayem operate from the same workshop and it was an al Mazda final in RARS Super Compact. It was Rehayem who reached the line first, Taking the points lead by 20 over the reigning Champion after round one.

In RARS Competition Bike, Mexican Corey Scholes took the early championship lead over Sydney racer David Shaw. Reigning Champion Shane Homes from South Queensland made it to the quarter finals while the results featured to Western Australians Alan Gerritsen and Kevin Gummow, Gummow was the Australian Champion in 2009.

New South Wales drivers hold the lead in RARS Supercharged Outlaws. Andrew Hodgson took the bracket win over Mike Watkins. Reigning Champion Christine Steffens from Gatton in Queensland exited at the quarter finals.

Queensland’s Kelly Corbett swept the pool in 2009/2010 and opened her 2010/2011 chase in RARS Modified with the maximum 100 points. Fellow Queenslander Tony Littlewood reached the final to take 80 points and the semi finals featured Ken Steward from Victoria and Brady Lowcock, also from Queensland.

With 78 entries RARS Super Sedan was the largest field at the 2010 FUCHS Australian Nationals. Tamworth’s Mark Harding emerged victorious over Newcastle’s Steve Fowler, with New South Wales drivers Chris Papadopoulos and Joseph Somma sharing the semi-final points.

It was also an all New South Wales final in RARS Modified Bike, with Daniel Browne taking the 100 point win over Mathew Tansley. Queensland’s Daniel Sekli and Sydney rider Len Azzopardi shared the semi-finals at 60 points each.

RARS Super Street was an all South Australian affair, with 2006 Australian Champion Darren Kellaway making a successful return to the chase with the win over last year’s Nationals winner Kylie Tanner. New South Wales drivers Paul Sabato and Michael Little took the local flag as far as the semi-finals.

Queensland’s Hayley Mackay took the win in RARS Junior Dragster, over Western Australian Phil Stewart. Queensland’s Ali Gosbell and Sydney’s Bianca Humphreys shared the semi-finals results.

A full list of the points following the 2010 FUCHS Australian Nationals may be found at Series Points / Rocket Allstars on the ANDRA Website.

The next round of the 2010/2011 Rocket Allstars Racing Series is the Sunstate Nationals, scheduled for Palmyra Dragway in Mackay, Queensland on Friday, October 1st and Saturday, October 2nd.


Aeroflow Performance Parts Catalogue

Drag News Magazine