Super Comp super quick, super fast in Adelaide – Qualifying report

This article brought to you by:


Super Comp promised fireworks at Adelaide International Raceway and it delivered with at least nine National 1000 feet records under threat.

Alistair McClure returned to his BB/FCA Funny Car stating he wanted to become more competitive under the index system and he goes into eliminations tomorrow a happy man.

By the end of qualifying McClure moved -0.556 under the National BB/FCA record with a 5.454 second pass to take top spot. He also has a shot at resetting the mile per hour record by going 197.95 mph off the trailer to surpass the current mark of 190.00 mph.

Returning to racing after his accident at Calder Park in April, Daniel Camilleri produced a 6.437 to go -0.513 under the DD/GA National record. He slots into second place and could surpass the mile per hour record if the conditions are right. 

Craig Geddes qualified third with a 6.211 second pass to go under the E/DA elapsed time record by -0.439 seconds. He could claim the mile per hour record too after surpassing the 159.00 mph benchmark and accelerating to an impressive 162.83 mph. 

And in fourth place is George Sardellis who put down a 6.907 second pass to go under the A/MPA National record by -0.433 seconds. 

Jim Ioannidis, Peter Pisalidis and Dimos Stefanopolous all have an opportunity to reset the mile per hour records for their respective classes on race day in what promises to be a pulsating round of eliminations.

Competition Bike

Rob Wasley is the man to beat in Competition Bike going from -0.053 under his index to -0.138 under by the close of qualifying.

Tony Frost sits in second with an 8.52 on a 0.257 index from David Willis, Niki Zakrzewski and Scott Wilson.

Unfortunately Keith Bentley started strong earlier in the day on his one and only pass but will not be able to take his place in the field.


Co-Championship leaders Shane Wynd and Jess Turner were neck and neck all day with both qualifying fifth and sixth respectively. 

They’ll be ones to watch tomorrow but today Michael Braggs took the top qualifying honours with a 7.306 from Luke Cartledge, Cory Dyson and Chris Farrell who went over the mile per hour of 167.00 mph reaching a whopping 193.25 mph.

Craig Baker and Kenny Stewart are further back in the field but no matter where they stand, Modified is sure to be full of excitement.

Supercharged Outlaws

Tracey De Jager may just throw a spanner in works of the Supercharged Outlaws Championship remaining quickest all day to take top spot on a 5.765.

With one eye on what was happening at Benaraby Raceway today, Championship leader Mark Kuhn, and with an outside shot Ryan Van Dyk, remained around the middle of the pack either side of David Thornton.

That left Justin Russell, Paul Stephen and Doina Day to slot into second, third and fourth respectively in what shapes up to be an intense battle on Sunday.

Super Sedan

Paul Russo, Phil Yfantidis, Larry Piscioneri and Arthur Tsalamangos lead most of the way during Super Sedan qualifying but Darren Saliba ultimately leapfrogged them all in his 68 Chev Camaro to top the field on a final pass of 7.660 seconds. 

Defending Champion Johnny Kapiris qualified in 32nd position with a 9.884 but he has come from further back in the field to win when it counts and will be one to watch yet again on Sunday.

Modified Bike

Edgell Mallis and Joe Khoury look set for an epic Modified Bike Championship showdown as both riders qualified one and two.

A 9.277 was enough to give Mallis top qualifier from Khoury on a 9.449. Matt Thompson is third from the returning Rob Cassar and Shane Walker who will look to stay in contention for the title from fifth.

David Carroll will keep them all honest on race day as he starts from sixth.

Super Street

Super Street Championship favourite Joe Jurkovic put in another promising performance to qualify in fifth on an 11.206.

But it was Diego Caruso driving his LX Torana into the number one position on an 11.095 in a closely matched field.

Bill Hondros qualified second with an 11.109 from Greg Damiani with an 11.176 and Jake McArlein sits fourth on an 11.205.

Junior Dragster

The Junior Dragster Championship is well and truly on with defending champion David Roberts qualifying in sixth while title hopefuls Toby Austin and Cory Burns are situated in second and third respectively.

Natalie Bishop took top honours on a pass of 8.018 giving her a boost of confidence as she looks to jump from fourth in the points standings.

Super Gas

Super Gas Champion Matt Forbes debuted his new Lucas Oil Corvette Roadster eventually qualifying third on a 9.913. However Warren Smith achieved perfection by running a 9.90 to lead the pack into eliminations. 

Graeme Spencer almost matched Smith on a 9.907 for second place while Johnny Lamberto and Renee Cockerill round out the top five on a pair of 9.92-second passes.

The Fuchs Spring Nationals continue with eliminations on Sunday from 9am at Adelaide International Raceway.



Aeroflow Performance Parts Catalogue

Drag News Magazine