The votes are in : Hidden Valley committee announced.

This article brought to you by:

The 2010 Annual General Meeting for HVDRA was held on Saturday night where the previous year was recapped and votes were cast for the 2011 management committee. Outgoing President, Clive Mainland chaired the meeting and was glowing in his President’s report.

“Discussions continue about returning ANDRA Championship Drag Racing to Darwin. ANDRA CEO Tony Thornton and DRAG LTD head Paul Casos came to Darwin recently to meet with the committee and inspect the new facilities and they are impressed with the potential offered by our track” said Mainland.

“Darwin continues to be represented on the national stage with several race teams travelling interstate to compete. Matt Abel and Scott MacLean are doing well in their Top Doorslammers; Mick Murray has teamed up with former Australian champion Troy McLean to field a two bike team in Top Bike while others are doing well in Supercharged Outlaw, Super Compact and other classes. We wish them luck and acknowledge their efforts to keep the Top End firmly on the national drag racing map.”

“The future of drag racing in the Top End is looking very bright, and this is due in no small part to the efforts of the committee members who have put so much time and effort into making this happen. I would like to take this opportunity to thank all of them for their tireless efforts this year. Without the efforts of these few people we would not be in the fortunate position we are in today. I believe some of our key people are planning to move on after this year and would like to personally thank them for all of the assistance and effort they have put in over the years. This club is run exclusively by volunteers and if anyone is able to help out by taking on a position such as track official or scrutineer at our meetings it is greatly appreciated. If you, or someone you know of, is interested in working at the drags please get in touch with the committee.”

“On behalf of the club I would like to thank all of the committee members, volunteers, racers and fans who have contributed to the club this year and I hope to see all of you out in force next year as we take Drag Racing in Darwin to the next level.”

2011 sees Jay Jukes return to the position of President after a short hiatus. “It will be sad to see some valuable members not returning to the committee next year, including Barry Webber and James Berry, but we wish them all the best and hope to see them back at the Valley soon” said Jukes after the event.

“2011 is going to be a fantastic year for drag racing at Hidden Valley and we can’t wait to see the first cars out there setting new track records.”

Mrs Trish Crossin, Senator for the Northern Territory, and Mr Ross Bohlin, Shadow Minister for Sport & Recreation also attended the Christmas Party held after the closing of the AGM. Senator Crossin was instrumental in co-ordinating the Federal funding for the major upgrades that are nearing completion at Hidden Valley.

Mr Bohlin recently took time out of his busy schedule to meet with ANDRA and DRAG Ltd CEO’s in Darwin during their visit last month.

Racing at Hidden Valley Drag Strip is set to recommence in April 2011.

2011 HVDRA Committee
President – Jay Jukes
Vice President – Clive Mainland
Secretary – Robert Harrison
Treasurer – Sam McNeill
Publicity Officer – Leath Darrach
Membership Secretary – Amanda Reed
Committee Members – Glenn Bull, Allan Arthus, Troy Dunning, Peter Kirkpatrick, Scott MacLean, Dieter Herman  
Sub Committee – Brad Stott, Craig Knight

Aeroflow Performance Parts Catalogue

Drag News Magazine