Tremayne the big winner as Winters Finals washout

This article brought to you by:

Aaron Tremayne was the big winner at the Castrol EDGE Winternationals, taking his fourth straight ANDRA Pro Series Pro Stock Championship at Willowbank today, despite being knocked out in the semi-finals and finals not taking place due to a freak shower.

Tremayne became the first driver in history to win four successive Pro Stock Championships – which is no mean feat given the Australian Pro Stock ranks are the strongest they’ve ever been and arguably some of the toughest racing in the world.

“It’s just fantastic to have wrapped up our fourth title in a row, unbelievable actually,” Tremayne said. “Despite winning the Title, we haven’t had the best of years so to wrap up the Championship this weekend is a great feeling.”

Before the rain came – right before the first final was due to get underway – the racing had been nothing short of stunning in front of a very healthy and appreciative crowd.

The first round of Top Fuel featured a monster matchup between American NHRA star – Cory McClenathan and Darren Morgan. Morgan – whose car was undergoing its first ever run – steamed down the track with a 4.726 lap at 309.34mph (497.83kph) over McClenathan’s 4.903.

The new Australian Champion then knocked out Mark Mariani in the other Rapisarda Racing car with a 4.790 at 300.00mph (482.8kph) versus Mariani’s 4.916. Mariani left with dual four second passes in the event.

The Final was set to be a classic between Morgan and Damien Harris. Harris has been incredible since making his ANDRA Pro Series debut last round. He pedalled around Steve Read in the opening round of competition.


The Jamie Noonan fairytale looked likely to come true in Top Alcohol. The engine builder for Brad Jones Racing in the V8 Supercars top qualified back in June and then had a glorious run into the finals accounting for Rick Gauci and Rob Pilkington.

He was due to line up against Steven Ham who took out Wayne Newby during their semi-final matchup. Newby was declared the Australian Champion during the course of the event also.

Top Doorslammer was going to be a battle between quick time man Peter Kapiris and Mark Belleri. Belleri claimed the massive scalp of John Zappia, who was uncharacteristically untidy in his semi-final run. It wasn’t all bad news for Zappia, who was awarded with the Australian Championship.

Kapiris knocked out Ben Bray and earlier accounted for Russ Pavey. Bray earlier accounted for Gary Phillips.

Tremayne was bumped out of the Pro Stock field by Jason Hedges in the semi-finals, however had done enough just by making it through the second round. Ironically, it was Hedges that knocked out Championship leader coming into the Castrol EDGE Winternationals, Dave Newcombe.

Hedges was due to take on Bill Perdikaris in the final – who took out Monster man, Shane Tucker. Tucker was granted a place in the field by the no show of other competitors and yesterday’s rained off final qualifying.

Chris Matheson’s sensational Top Bike season continued making it through to the Final. He set the lowest elapsed time for the category with a 6.357 second run in round two and was due to meet Troy McLean in the Final. Matheson too was declared Champion.

Pro Stock Motorcycle became the only ANDRA Pro Series category without a confirmed champion by virtue of Andrew Badcock’s qualification for the final.

Badcock was due to take on Glenn Wooster in the final. Earlier, he bumped out Maurice Allen in the first round – his fellow Championship chaser.


A number of Rocket All Stars Series classes still had Championships to be decided, with Willowbank Raceway officials and ANDRA officials tonight meeting to decide how these classes will be determined.

The full list of confirmed ANDRA Australian Champions for 2010-2011 are as follows:
ANDRA Pro Series
Top Fuel – Darren Morgan
Top Alcohol – Wayne Newby
Top Bike – Chris Matheson
Top Doorslammer – John Zappia
Pro Stock – Aaron Tremayne

Rocket All Stars Series

Super Stock – Jim Ioannidis
Competition Bike – Kevin Gummow
Super Compact – Rod Harvey
Super Sedan – Steve Fowler
Modified Bike – Daniel Selki
Super Street – Robert Harrington
Junior Dragster – Jake Donnelly

A full event wrap up and gallery will be posted shortly here on Drag News Australia. In the meantime check out the LIVE coverage replay HERE


Aeroflow Performance Parts Catalogue

Drag News Magazine