Tyronne Tremayne takes the Benaraby Nationals – Event wrap

This article brought to you by:


Tremaniac Racing got the win they were looking for during the ANDRA Drag Racing Series Pro Stock Round 4 at the Benaraby Nationals. 

But it was Tyronne Tremayne, not Championship leader Aaron who walked away with the ANDRA Silver Christmas tree to all but guarantee brother versus brother for the title.

Running over 660 feet at Benaraby Raceway in a last minute change, Tyronne Tremayne and John Barbagallo fought a close even contest all weekend down to qualifying with the exact same 4.539 elapsed time. 

Although Aaron Tremayne qualified number one, Barbagallo and Tyronne would meet in another close showdown in the final after Tyronne despatched Scott Porter and his brother while Barbagallo defeated Rob Nunn to earn a bye in the semi.

Split by just 0.060 seconds as they crossed the stripe, Tremayne took the win with a 4.537 at 151.52 mph from Barbagallo on a 4.541 at 151.01 mph.

The Benaraby Nationals also served as a split Round 10 of the Aeroflow Sportsman Drag Racing Championship running over 1000 feet almost simultaneously with the Fuchs Spring Nationals in Adelaide.

Several Championship stories played out further murking the water ahead of the season deciding Australian Nationals at Sydney Dragway on October 31 – November 2.

Luke Marsden did his Supercharged Outlaws title defence no harm finishing runner up to Matthew McKnight who virtually hit is dial in dead on with a 5.792 on a 5.79.

Championship hopefuls Matt Watts and Jake Donnelly both reached the semi finals while Rodney Hansen and Chris Van’t Hof went out in Round 2. 

Kylie Tanner captured her second Super Street Championship Round victory of the year after winning the Desert Nationals to put pressure on Joe Jurkovic racing in Adelaide.

Tanner defeated a red lighting Robert Winterburn in the final on an 11.837 justifying her decision to travel to Queensland instead of competing locally in Adelaide.

Rick Neilsen had hoped to apply pressure on John Kapiris in the Super Sedan Championship but he was ousted in Round 1. That left Daniel Morris and Neil Maxwell to ultimately fight it out in the final with Morris winning with an 8.367 on an 8.36 dial in from 7.395 on the 7.38.

David Gauldie was unable to capitalise on a semi final berth to put pressure on the top four Super Gas racers competing in Adelaide bowing out to sixth placed Darryl Stephen.

Although Stephen looked formidable, Simon Isherwood took advantage of a near perfect .001 reaction time to win by just 0.032 seconds at the finish line.

In other news Jason Simpson claimed the victory in Super Comp defeating Shane Moran with a 6.762 on a 7.08 index from a 5.887 on a 6.19. Reegan Ward was gifted the win in Modified Bike when his opponent Jacob Davis red lit after some intense battles in the lead up. David Everett took the honours in Modified from Katie Cunningham and Dylan Leo was victorious in Junior Dragster defeating Alexis Barbeler in the final. 

Benaraby Nationals Final Results

Pro Stock

Tyronne Tremayne 4.537 at 151.52 mph def
John Barbagallo 4.541 at 151.01 mph

Super Comp
Jason Simpson 6.762 (7.08) at 150.98 mph def
Shane Moran 5.887 (6.19) at 179.26 mph

Dallas Everett 8.503 (7.68) at 125.39 def
Katie Cunningham 9.213 (7.38) at 90.64 (red light)

Supercharged Outlaws
Matthew McKnight 5.792 (5.79) at 184.93 mph def
Luke Marsden 6.154 (5.59) at 135.67 mph

Super Sedan
Daniel Morris 8.367 (8.36) at 160.71 mph def
Neil Maxwell 7.395 (7.38) at 186.41 mph

Modified Bike
Reegan Ward 8.720 (8.70) at 156.76 mph def
Jacob Davis 8.998 (8.93) at 150.87 mph

Super Street
Kylie Tanner 11.837 (11.83) at 110.71 mph def
Robert Winterburn 11.208 (11.18) at 122.24 mph (red light)

Junior Dragster
Dylan Leo 7.934 (7.97) at 80.65 mph def
Alexis Barbeler 8.191 (8.18) at 77.19 mph

Super Gas
Simon Isherwood 10.005 (9.90) at 131.71 mph def 10.008 131.77 9.90
Darryl Stephen 10.008 (9.90) at 131.77 mph


Image courtesy of Staunch Launch Photography


Aeroflow Performance Parts Catalogue

Drag News Magazine