Weather the winner at Perth’s Goldenstates

This article brought to you by:

nick panagopoulos2

More than 150 racers battled it out at the Perth Motorplex’s Prestige Lock Service Goldenstates on Saturday (November 11) for round five of the Summit Racing Equipment Sportsman Series, however only one event winner would be found when rain saw the other nine finals unable to be run before the track curfew came into effect.

Nick Panagopoulos was awarded the win in the Super Sedan category, while Beau Higgins and Jack Wasley (Summit Racing Equipment Junior Dragster), Lee Watson and Roger Moorhouse (Denso Super Street), Bryan Finn and Luke Seaton (Modified Bike), James Kemp and Jeff Acton (Modified), Johnny Brecich and Paul Downe (Top Sportsman), Adam Murrihy and Alan Mahnkoph (Supercharged Outlaws), Phil Paton and Justin Townson (Competition Bike), Ralph Lewis and Matt George (Competition) and Jamie Chaisty and Graeme Simms (Super Stock) all made it to the finals of their respective categories before racing was called off.

For full results from the Prestige Lock Service Goldenstates, please click here. The next round of the Summit Racing Equipment Sportsman Series, the Rowe Memorial, will be held at Calder Park Raceway on Saturday, November 25.

In the Super Sedan bracket, Panagopoulos took out the victory over Kapiris in a double break-out final. Panagopoulos had earlier faced and dispatched Daniel Kojic (round one), Neil Scott and Martin Mirco, while Kapiris had raced Yvette Gregg (round one) before going on to face Nick Benedetto and George Tipouikidis to head to the finals. Earlier in the Super Sedan proceedings, Mick Fenton earned the Top Qualifiers Medallion – sponsored by The Tile Co-The Shower People, KC Tools and Summit Racing.

“For us it was a pretty good day, even if it was in pretty tough conditions with the weather changing on us as much as it did throughout the day,” said Panagopoulos, who thanked his crew as well as sponsors Dy-Mark Australia, Balcatta Engines, Australian Manufacturing Workers Union (WA Branch) and Wanneroo Pool Services for their support.

“We were pretty happy to get through to the final. Having a double break-out was a bit of a surprise for both me and John Kapiris! We were not expecting to run as quick as we did, but I think the wind swung around and pushed us a bit.

“We are ecstatic to get our first ANDRA Xmas Tree and to win the event this year, after being the runners-up last year.”

In the Summit Racing Equipment Junior Dragster ranks, Higgins faced Luke Veersma, Tyson Liddiard and Aiden Abel on his way to a bye run in his semi-final, while Wasley took on Connor Begley, Cooper Moresby, a bye and Brodie Zappia on his way to the final. Alanah Cope took out the Top Qualifier Medallion honours.

Joel Trottman was the Top Qualifier Medallion winner in the Denso Super Street category, while Watson and Moorhouse found themselves paired up for the final after dispatching Lisa Garbellini, Jeff Thurley, Paul Antonelli and Kirstie Wroe; and Steph Gullotto, John Kapiris, Chris de Brown and Ashleigh Wroe respectively.

Finn and Seaton were set to do battle in the Modified Bike final after Finn took on Craig Gilbert, Danny Rickard, Chris Moore and Top Qualifier Paul Nieuwhof. Seaton had taken on Trent Anthony, Zoe Nieuwhof and Ross Townson before enjoying a bye run in the semi-finals.

Modified Top Qualifier Kemp enjoyed a bye run into the final, while Jeff Acton took on and beat Nicholas Wroe. In Top Sportsman, Brecich booked his finals ticket by taking victory over Alby Bakranich and Top Qualifier Medallion recipient Jake Lane. Downe had faced off against Amanda Martin and Chris Roe.

In the Supercharged Outlaws category defending champ and Top Qualifier Murrihy raced Jodie Mellit in round one before having a bye run in the semis, while Mahkoph triumphed over Norbert Claite and Chris Went on his way to the final.

Also converting Top Qualifier Medallions into final berths were Paton, Lewis and Chaisty. In Competition Bike, Paton took a bye run in the first round before winning over Rob Wasley and Daniel Natalotto, while Justin Townson took on Wayne Patterson and Mick Day before having a bye run in the semis. In Competition, Lewis took wins over Brett Glover and Jeff Lewis, while Matt George advanced from Tim Roads and Shane Weston. In Super Stock, Chaisty raced Todd Stacy before having a bye run in the semis, while Simms – currently in his 50th year of drag racing – had raced Michael Buckley and Jodi Racco.

Earlier in the day, a driver was taken to hospital following an incident during qualifying. Police were at the scene and on their advice racing was suspended while investigations were carried out. Racing resumed some time later. ANDRA’s thoughts are with the driver and their family.

ANDRA thanks the Perth Motorplex and VenuesWest as well as all of the volunteers and sponsors for an outstanding race track and a well-run event.

Round six of the Summit Racing Equipment Sportsman Series, the Rowe Memorial, will be held at Calder Park Dragway on Saturday, November 25. For more information, visit and

For full results from this weekend’s Summit Racing Equipment Sportsman Series round at the Perth Motorplex, please click here

Photo: High Octane Photos/Phil Luyer
Report by ANDRA Media

Aeroflow Performance Parts Catalogue

Drag News Magazine