Western Australian Junior Dragster drivers to vie for Anita Board Memorial perpetual trophy

This article brought to you by:

Round two of the Perth Motorplex 2020/2021 sees 12 of the state’s Junior Dragster racers in the hunt for the Anita Board Memorial perpetual trophy.

The trophy is presented by the West Coast Junior Dragster Association, in conjunction with the Board Family, and is typically awarded to the winner of the Goldenstates. The trophy will run for the course of what would have been Anita’s career in Junior Dragster racing, and then presented to the Board Family. This leaves only seven spots to have the winner’s name etched in history.

Anita’s legacy to the sport has touched every racer in the country and throughout the world. With improved focus on safety, communications and training, the sport has realigned its commitment to safety to the highest standards. But the support, love and coming together of all racers throughout the world is something that will be remembered and cherished, and celebrated with the awarding of this trophy.

With COVID restrictions this year, awarding of this much sought-after award was moved to round two of the WA Drag Racing Championship.

The winner receives the perpetual trophy, a keepsake and $250 donated by the Board Family.

Last year’s winner Zara Board is keen to go two-up, but faces fierce competition from fellow A/JD racer and winner of the opening event Brodie Zappia.

“This trophy is a great way to keep Anita’s spirit alive within our motorsport,” she said. “She has been gone three years now, but she never truly left our hearts and souls. I am looking forward to seeing what youngsters come up and win it in the future but hoping to place my name on it again in the coming years, and I know it will be a tough competition.”

Also hoping to put their names on the trophy will be newcomer Angel Bakranich, third generation racer Beau Ferguson, Lucas ‘Chucky’ Green, best mates Seth Jarvis and Tyler James, new addition to the A/JD ranks Jett Martin, brothers Brock and Cooper Moresby, third sibling from the successful Spadaro family Dylan Spadaro, and the dark horse and soon to be birthday boy Lachlan Taylor.

Qualifying starts from 10.00am and the feature program of Summer Slam and Nitro Bikes starting from 5.30pm. The all-important Junior Dragster final will be at approximately 10.00pm.

Aeroflow Performance Parts Catalogue

Drag News Magazine