Willowbank champions crowned – Track Championship Final event report

This article brought to you by:

Alternative Header Pic

The final round of the Willowbank Raceway track championship was contested on November 17th.  The event was completed despite a lengthy delay due to a passing thunderstorm.  A big effort by the track crew to get the track dry ensured the rest of the event ran trouble free with about 100 competitors fighting it out for the event win and some also fighting for the track championship. 



Three brackets were unable to be run due to lack of numbers, a situation that the new management can hopefully improve on next season.  Drag News Australia wishes to congratulate all the Track Champions and we look forward to bringing you all the action next year with more coverage.0002

With a lack of numbers forcing Super Comp to be abandoned Chris Hall was left to do a number of test runs.  Hall was tied with Tony Bellert for the championship and after a count back the Track Championship was awarded to Hall.


Chris Hall Super Comp Track Champion.


Graham Slapp was out in his “Fossil Fueler” injected Nitro FED.  Graham performed a number of strong burnouts and launches but struggled to find a setup to get down the track.  This car is an animal!


Mark Jacobsen was also testing a new engine combination in the Factory Extreme Skyline, gone is the traditional RB design in favour for the new generation VR38 combination.  Some crazy launches and impressive 60 foot times were the result.


Rodney Moore made a number of test passes in the beautiful 2JZ Hilux with a best time slip of 8.300 at 165mph.


Scott Porter has been testing a lot lately.  The Factory extreme racer running a best of 6.43 at 222mph.


Returning after an unfortunate rollover earlier in the season was Sam Kiprios in this 3RZ powered Starlet.  After a couple of soft centreline crossing runs, the car seemed to respond  well to some more power running through for a best of 8.72 at 157 mph.


Sam Kiprios ready to go.


Kevin Magner was testing his Super Stock Pontiac with a 9.24 coming up on the boards.


With two racers pulling out on the day leaving only four Supercharged Outlaws racers on hand, the bracket could not be run.  Bill Fletcher was the quickest during qualifying and was rewarded for his season long effort with a Track Championship win over his son Josh in second place.


Josh Fletcher placed second in the championship.


Bevin Buckby qualified with a 7.397 and ran a number of test passes after the bracket was abandoned.


Peter Stirling was the other Outlaws competitor in his wild wheel standing Camaro.


Kevin Morton came up trumps in Modified Eliminator driving his Holden powered Altered.  Kevin won all three rounds during the round robin using some impressive reaction times including a 0.001.  Another stellar 0.007 light in the final along with a 9.40 on his 9.39 dial in handed him the winner’s trophy over Tony Littlewood.


Runner up in modified was Tony Littlewood who had earlier defeated Katie Cunningham, Wade Moran & Jordan Radford.  A 0.086 reacted 8.704 in the final wasn’t good enough to stop Kevin Morton.  The win also confirmed a second place finish in the track championship, a position he was tied in with Scott Bettes prior to this round.


Despite having average success at the season final with only a single win in racing, Wade Moran was a deserving winner of the 2012/2013 Track Championship for Modified Eliminator.


Super Sedan was won by long time racer Darren Doeblien driving his BF Falcon Sedan.  Darren Defeated 3 Pro Street racers in James Horan, Stu Henry and Brad Wooldridge on his way to the final round.  A 0.029 reaction followed by a 9.79 on a 9.75 dial in was good enough t defeat Kevin Langridge in the final. 


Kevin Langridge was runner up in Super Sedan driving his long serving Torana.  A 9.60 on a  9.57 Dial along with a 0.068 reaction will win most races however it wasn’t enough to stay in front of Doeblien.


It was a great night for the Doeblien family with Paul Doeblien winning the Super Sedan Track Championship in a tight battle with fellow Ford stalwart Rick Neilsen


Chris Collin got the automatic win in the final of Modified Bike when opponent Tammy Goldthorpe fouled on the tree.  Lucky for Collin as he broke out by nearly a tenth of a second.


Tammy Goldthorpe red lighted away her chances in the final however she was victorious in the Modified Bike Tack Championship. 


Modified Bike Track Champion Tammy Goldthorpe.


Blaze Hansen came away with another win in the Harrington Super Street Commodore.  The win cementing a Track championship Win for 2012/2103.


Mitchell Bauer was runner up at the event in Super Street.  A slow 0.120 reaction in the final handed Hansen an easy win.


Super Street  Track Champion Blaze Hansen


Another racer to win both this event and the track championship was Junior Dragster competitor Dylan Leo.  Dylan was flawless throughout the day including a 0.005 reaction time in round three on his way to a final round win over Dakota Ward


Dakota Ward was runner up in junior dragster.  Dakota broke out in the final running 7.95 on a 7.96.


Dylan Leo won the Junior Dragster Track Championship ahead of Caleb Oberg and Dale Duffy.


Super Gas was another class without the numbers to run a bracket at today’s event.  A number of racers made passes on the day including Track Champion Simon Isherwood who was presented with his Track Championship trophy for Super Gas


Winners of the three brackets run at the Willowbank Street Series were also presented on the day.  Winner of Street Sedan was Josh Fletcher.


Street Bike Track Champion Anthony Weiland.


Powder Puff Champion Jody Wentworth.


2012/2013 Willowbank Raceway Track Champions.


Wrapping it up following Saturday’s racing, eight new championship winners were crowned with Slacks Creek’s Wade Moran (Knijff Earthmoving Modified), Brassall’s Paul Doeblien (Powercruise Super Sedan), Raceview’s Tammy Goldthorpe (Gasoline Alley Harley-Davidson Modified Bike), Redbank Plains’ Blaze Hansen (Prime Signs/Speed Elec Super Street) and Chris Hall (SuperComp), Jimboomba’s Dylan Leo (Donnelly Blasting Services Junior Dragster), Sheldon’s Bill Fletcher (Allstar Batteries Supercharged Outlaws) and Kallangur’s Simon Isherwood (Super Gas) taking out the honours in their respective brackets.

For some, the weekend was not the first time they have tasted championship glory, with Wentworth (2012, 2013), Josh Fletcher (2002, 2006, 2009, 2010, 2013), Bill Fletcher (2008, 2010, 2013), Hansen (2009 in Junior Dragster, 2012 in Modified, 2013 in Street Sedan), Doeblien (2005, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2013) Goldthorpe (2004, 2005, 2013) and Isherwood (2009, 2012, 2013) all having previously claimed the coveted honour of being named a Willowbank Raceway Track Champion.

Willowbank Raceway Chief Executive Officer Tony Manson was pleased to congratulate the 2013 Track Championship winners and was on-hand Saturday evening to present them with their trophies.

It was my absolute honour to be able to present the Track Championship trophies for 2013 to our deserving champions on Saturday,” said Manson.

“They have fought hard all season and showed passion, determination, skill and speed; and everyone here at Willowbank Raceway would like to congratulate them on their success.

“Saturday’s action was a great way to finish out the 2013 season, and I’m looking forward to an even stronger 2014 season with the calendar for 2014 now up on our web site.”


 Report and Photos by Mal Burgess & Blacktrack.com.au



Aeroflow Performance Parts Catalogue

Drag News Magazine