Willowbank Street Series rounds 1 & 2 wrap

This article brought to you by:

A new season is upon Williowbank Raceway’s very popular Street Series, a great initiative that introduces many races to DYO racing without having to make the step into the higher levels of performance and competition.

With only a three week break between the end of the season and the start of the new season racer numbers were down but didn’t make racing any easier with most brackets still having over 5 rounds of racing.

Finishing where he left off last season, Josh Fletcher in his Torana carried his form over from last season and had an opening win in Quick Street over the perfect reacting Darren Doeblien.   The former JD racer has now won 15 rounds of racing in a row.

NAME    DIAL IN    R/T    E/T
Winner – Josh Fletcher    12.08    .021    12.090
R/Up – Darren Doeblien    12.58    .000    12.520 B/O

The hotly contested Hot Street bracket final came down between Russell Sticklen and Craig Vogler.  The win going to Sticklen and his psychic like .008 reaction time pushing Vogler to a breakout. 

NAME    DIAL IN    R/T    E/T
Winner – Russell Sticklen    13.80    .008    13.867
R/Up – Craig Vovler    13.75    .112    13.729 B/O

Another former J/D champion in Blaze Hansen showed his foot brake racing skills have not been lost since using a delay box in Super Sedan by taking out the win in the Street class driving his Ford Falcon over Michael  Norris. 

NAME    DIAL IN    R/T    E/T
Winner – Blaze Hansen    16.86    .065    16.969
R/Up – Michael Norris    15.00    .255    15.049

Jody Wentworth in possibly the biggest race car on the planet took the honours driving her Charger in the Powder Puff class after Christina Tschutura in her commodore left a cherry on the tree. 

NAME    DIAL IN    R/T    E/T
Winner – Jody Wentworth    13.46    .087    13.572
R/Up – Christina Tschutura    11.90    -.021    11.856

With menacing weather around all day for the second round of the Street Series, drag racing gods shined upon the meeting with rain starting to fall just after the final pass of eliminations.  Whilst the entry numbers were down due to the weather racing was still as competitive as ever with one notable absentee from the final rounds that being Josh Fletcher, with his earliest exit (2nd round loss) for a long time which brought his current meeting victories to a halt at three event wins in a row. 

With only 12 competitors hitting the start line Quick Eliminator was the smallest class of the night. After 4 rounds of eliminations Jason Stoodley with an oh so close perfect pass defeatied Neil Tschutura in his 12 second Holden using a .008 reaction time and a 12.125 on his 12.12 dial in.  The win moving Stoodley up into second spot in the points and only one round win behind the points leader Josh Fletcher.

Hot street was the biggest class of the night and after 5 rounds of racing veteran and perennial finalist Matthew McKnight in his borrowed fathers torana faced off against up and comer Toby Rice in his 14 second HG wagon. McKnight took the slight holeshot off the line .064 to Rice’s .090 and held it to record a 13.649 on a 13.630 victory over Rices closer 14.908 on a 14.90 dial in. 

Street eliminator had two new faces in the final after 4 rounds of racing.  Ex junior dragster champion Loughlin Boyde in his VX commodore up against Carl Grading, using a .093 reaction time and a backing off 16.788 on a 16.72 Boyde pushed the slower reacting Grading to a tenth breakout. 

Christina Tschutura made up for her husband’s runner up in quick eliminator by grabbing the holeshot win in the powder puff final over Susanne Fletcher.  The win moving Tschutura up into first and Fletchers runner up moving her up into 3rd position overall in the powder puff points tally.

The next round of the series is October 2nd and you can see the full list of the points at www.willowbankraceway.com.au.

Report and Photos by Mark Allan

Aeroflow Performance Parts Catalogue

Drag News Magazine